Author Topic: Phone Interview questions  (Read 1955 times)

dragonwalker

• Stubble
Phone Interview questions
« on: August 08, 2018, 08:26:57 PM »
I'm going to be having a phone interview tomorrow and I've been trying to prepare myself. I have several colleagues who gave me a heads up what the likely questions might be and I'm working on responses and practicing them so they don't sound scripted. I've read and watched some basic tips on what I should and should not say and how to do it.

I've been with my current company for the past 8 years since I graduated college so this could potentially be a big change. Ofcourse I'm making sure I address your typical interview topics.

What stood out a few times reading the job requirements was about reliability. This got me thinking and I know it's a little petty but I'm kind of proud that in my life so far (I'm 30) and in fact in every job I've had so far I've never needed to call out sick except for leaving once 2 hours early when a family member died on a Friday but I was back to work on Monday. I've been fortunate that so far in my working career I haven't been sick or felt that it was really necessary enough to lie to take a day off.

In this day and age when I see people all around me at work maximizing and exceeding their sick days for their own reasons (not health related) or going further and going on LOA (leave of absense) for medical/personal reasons I'm glad that I haven't needed to resort to that. It's not that I am personally against it but again I've never yet felt it was necessary. I think it has benefited me not to have done this as I hear resentment from others about those who do take these kinds of breaks.