Author Topic: NFL 2012-13 Season  (Read 25139 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
NFL 2012-13 Season
« on: August 17, 2012, 02:40:08 PM »
(This thread in honor of grantmeaname)

So the next football season is nearly upon us, with the preseason in full swing.

I'm not a huge football buff, but I've started to enjoy the game, especially over the past few years.  I was born and raised in Seattle, so I'll be a Seahawk and Mariner's fan for life (R.I.P. Sonics).

So what are the top stories for this season?

Quarterbacks are big, obviously:
Payton Manning will be interesting to see how he's recovered.  Tebow possibly taking over for the Jets.  Cam Newton starting his second season.  Seeing if Vick can get back to 2010 form.  Then of course the rookies, Luck and RG3.

What are you guys looking forward to watching this season?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

ShavenLlama

• Stubble
Re: NFL 2012-13 Season
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2012, 03:10:10 PM »
Go Packers.

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Cast me away from yesterday's things
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2012, 03:16:09 PM »
er... this could be the year the Yankees finally beat the Senators?

But seriously, I've been to enough football games in school (all of them before I got to OSU and season tickets were $300) that I'm happy to just drop in and out on the home team as the season goes on. If the Bengals and the Buckeyes both make it through the year without egregious ethical lapses, I'll call it a victory. It hasn't happened yet, and some years both teams are in the news the wrong way (cf. 2011).

carolinakaren

• Stubble