Author Topic: Mowed down by an SUV  (Read 3714 times)

PlainsWalker

• Stubble
Mowed down by an SUV
« on: July 16, 2018, 10:15:08 AM »
    I've been commuting to work on a bike for about two years now. In that time I've had some close passes from motorized vehicles along with a few good hearted attempts at right hooks and left crosses. I have been able to avoid collisions by keeping my head on a swivel and always expecting the car drivers to be gunning for me. Up until about a month ago, when I got caught unawares.
    I was on my way to work and entered a traffic circle. While I was going around I saw an SUV approaching the circle. The driver slowed down as they approached their yield sign. We made eye contact with each other so it sure looked they knew I was there and they had yielded. I continued on and as I was about to exit the traffic circle they caught me from behind. They clobbered me a good one. Crumpled up the back end of my back and ejected me down the road sending me skittering down the concrete. The bright yellow helmet, bright orange vest, and blinking lights on both the front and back weren't enough to alert this driver to my presence. The driver at least stopped, even though they were not at all conciliatory.
    Fortunately I didn't break anything and the road rash has healed up nicely. I'm hoping my freckles are hiding under the scar tissue and weren't completely scrapped off in places. The driver's insurance company has accepted full responsibility so at least I'm getting my bike fixed and getting my emergency room visit covered.

lemanfan

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Mowed down by an SUV
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 10:24:01 AM »
Ouch.  Glad you got away as good as you did!

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2018, 10:29:09 AM »
Honestly, sounds more like the driver knew you were there and didn't care. Glad it wasn't more serious.

Raymond Reddington

• Stubble
  • "The Concierge of Cash"
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2018, 04:06:48 PM »