Author Topic: Married people: did you change your name? Why or why not? And how did you name your kids?  (Read 49387 times)

Spartana

Our boys have my name and any girls will have my partner’s surname. As for other names, the first one is one we like, and the middle name is a dead relative, but we have to like both the name and the relative. Yes my partner’s last name is her Dad’s name, but she identifies with it, and you’ve got to start a matrilineal line somewhere.

Maybe we could start matrilineal lines the same way a lot of the (European) patriarchal lines were started - either by profession or mother's identity!! My kids' last name could be Chemist (a la "Smith" and "Barber") or Laurason/Stacyson/Emilydaugter (a la "Johnson" and "Robertson")

So if you're financially independent would you have to go with loafer or layabout?
Spartana Slacker (dibs!)

Spartana

I find changing your name a little weird, but not as weird as joint email addresses. But people are allowed to be weird.

yeah, and joint Facebook accounts... so weird! give each other some privacy!

I have joint email with DH. I'm sure it's annoying when we send out a message and don't sign it, and the recipient doesn't know if it is me or him who is sending it. I'd be annoyed by that, I need to know who is at the other end of the communication. But I always put my name at the bottom of emails or at least I try to do that.  DH doesn't always do that.

It also keeps things on the up and up when getting emails from old boyfriends.  :)
Well you ARE a little weird Iris Lily - this just confirms it :-)!! Of course that dual facebook account might not be too successful when your ex-BF (L.B. Bobby) is cyber stalking you over at the SL forums.

TrulyStashin

• Handlebar Stache
With your kids, I would think they should take your husband's last name. 

Why?

+1

+2

+3

+4