Author Topic: How does one find a job after getting fired?  (Read 11125 times)

Johnez

• Handlebar Stache
How does one find a job after getting fired?
« on: September 11, 2018, 09:23:32 PM »
Never though I'd have to write that question out, but there it is.  Not fired, but I'd say I have a coin flip's chance in the environment I'm in now.

Some questions popping up:

Do you disclose that you were fired?
How do you disclose?
If yes, how does one discuss the circumstances?

For the curious, I work in a warehouse and I yelled at a coworker, abusive language, no threats.  Currently suspended pending investigation.  I've a union here to defend me, though I'm not sure how much help they are going to be with HR making the decision.  I've prepared my statement with apology, promise not to do it again, and explaining my situation.  If I stay on I'm looking for work elsewhwere immediately, looking already.  Anyone ever been in this situation?  Any tips on dealing with HR?

Linea_Norway

• Walrus Stache
Re: How does one find a job after getting fired?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 03:22:38 AM »
You could also quit your job yourself so you won't get fired. Or, if your employer chooses to fire you, ask if they let you quit voluntarily instead.

If you quit yourself, try to sell it as if you needed to take a break from work.
In general, I personally think you shouldn't lie when being asked anything directly. Just try to wrap the truth as nicely as you can.

Try to avoid being questioned about why you are fired. I think that yelling would not make you an attractive employee to hire. So better to quit yourself and tell a white lie, then to get fired and having to choose between telling a real lie or an unattractive truth.

My DH was once unjustly fired, in a way that the employer ended up having to pay him a 9 month salary in compensation. DH negotiated that he could quit himself and told the next boss that he wanted a different position.