Author Topic: Help me identify the style of this house  (Read 2140 times)

Ecky

• Bristles
Help me identify the style of this house
« on: January 19, 2019, 06:23:26 AM »
Putting in an offer on this house soon. I'm having trouble placing if there's a cohesive style to it, or of it's just a mish-mash of elements made to look European. I'd probably call the exterior "chalet". Anyone have any ideas?

« Last Edit: January 19, 2019, 07:25:16 AM by Ecky »

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Re: Help me identify the style of this house
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2019, 07:21:23 AM »
1960's A frame AKA Swiss ski chalet.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2019, 12:01:57 PM »
Looks like a two-story A frame.  I would have said Bulvarian-style, given the metal scroll work on the hinges, but I'm no expert.

My follow up question:  What do you plan on doing this this house?  Any reno planned?  Will it be your permanent residence?

Ecky

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2019, 06:21:36 PM »
My follow up question:  What do you plan on doing this this house?  Any reno planned?  Will it be your permanent residence?

Yep, first home, going with a 203k. It's going to take a ton of elbow grease, the interior is filthy but it was clearly someone's dream home when it was built in '82 and structurally it needs nothing. Hoping the bank will take my offer since it's the off season, it's more the home I'd hope to end up in rather than a starter - deep clean mountain well, ~3 acres of land with no neighbors in sight, a central fireplace which can be fired on every floor, a massive detached garage with insulated workshop above it, and plenty of good grazing for some alpacas I'd like to obtain and let loose.

Best part? 30 minutes from work and I'm thinking I can snag it for under 150k.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2019, 07:07:15 AM »