Author Topic: Family Separation & the Travel Ban - from the Belly of the Beast  (Read 13611 times)

Sailor Sam

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Semper...something
Bottom Line Up Front: I am a military officer under the Department of Homeland Security, and I increasingly think I need to choose between my commission and my morals.

Today I heard a report on NPR about family separation at the border. The topic wasn’t surprising, and honestly my horror has numbed out to a sort of dull resignation. Today was a new horror, though. Children of so called ‘tender age’ who cannot be reunited with their parents, because U.S. officials have no idea who their parents are. The parents are not provided the children’s immigration numbers during processing, the children are too young to trace their parents from their end (sometimes so young they don’t know their parents have names past ‘mama’ and ‘papa’), and voilà - something seen as a humanitarian crisis on both sides of the aisle is made a little more evil.

On top of all that horror, the travel ban was upheld by the Supreme Court.

For much of my adult life I’ve insisted that national pride is good, as long as the pride is humble and doesn’t descend into nationalism. Accordingly, I believe my country is one of the greats, but aware there are many other great nations in the world. I am proud that my country is a destination for those suffering oppression and instability in their birth countries, but aware every wave of immigration has triggered a wave of racial or national hatred. I believe my choice of national service is a high calling, but aware that the US military has made it’s own grave mistakes and evil proclamations. I believe Trump is staggeringly unqualified, but I’m aware writing off all Republican votes as racist is its own form of evil.