Author Topic: East Asian language study -- share your goals and progress  (Read 11769 times)

Kwill

• Handlebar Stache
East Asian language study -- share your goals and progress
« on: September 22, 2018, 05:31:48 AM »
I'm starting this to spin off one topic from a journal discussion. Feel free to join in with your goals, progress, tips, and tricks related to studying an East Asian language.

I started studying Japanese in 1991 and passed level 1 of the JLPT in 2009. I use Japanese at work, but I'm also using Crunchyroll for listening practice.

I started studying Korean on my own in 2016, and I'm still very much a beginner. I'm feeling unreasonably frustrated with it because my Korean is so far behind my Japanese, and I'd love to hear tips for speeding up the process. So far I've finished 'First Step Korean' and 'Learn to Speak Korean 1' on Coursera, in addition to trying and giving up on various other books and websites. I'm using flashcards on Quizlet to review vocabulary, and I occasionally watch Korean dramas on Dramafever. I read a little bit of Korean at work but could do a lot more if I could catch up.

What languages are you studying? What are your best tools? What do you find the most difficult?

Not There Yet

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: East Asian language study -- share your goals and progress
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2018, 04:04:09 PM »
I'd like this information also - I'd like to learn Korean, but without spending a lot to do so. 

Freedomin5

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2018, 04:20:34 PM »