Author Topic: Does Anyone Regret Voting Republican?  (Read 260814 times)

talltexan

• Walrus Stache
Re: Does Anyone Regret Voting Republican?
« Reply #1100 on: August 27, 2018, 08:22:46 AM »
(reminder: I am an economist and sympathetic to the idea that regulations weigh down businesses, particularly small ones)

The fact that you offer up barriers to entry in hair and dairy/egg production is kinda...random. Are you in one of these industries? Do you work for a group who lobbies for them? Do you have evidence that these particular regulations are much more onerous than--say--those that fall on coal power plants? Because my annual spend on eggs is probably in the neighborhood of about $100 for a family of four. My annual spend on hair (just for myself) styling is a very un-mustachian $150. Seeing these amounts cut in half by removing the regulations you cite will not rocket my family ahead financially.

And there's a converse of the regulation argument--one that really matters--which is that there are real problems being caused, sometimes to workers, sometimes to customers, and some times to third parties who do not benefit from unregulated transactions.

And while I appreciate the benefits businesses receive from the rollback to these regulations, I'm aware that some times the people who suffer from these rollbacks might not have the resources the businesses do to fight them in court of law or court of public opinion.

partgypsy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #1101 on: August 27, 2018, 09:13:11 AM »