Author Topic: Cures for leg cramps  (Read 9248 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
Cures for leg cramps
« on: September 26, 2017, 01:20:57 AM »
I've had cramps in my calves throughout so much of my life! When I was young, the doctors would say they were "growing pains". Well, I don't think I've been doing mush growing for about fifteen years!

I had a baby almost two months ago. The leg cramps have been fierce lately. Tylenol works wonders but I'm breastfeeding so I'd like to try natural remedies. Things I'm trying:

- drinking water, prenatal vitamin, walking, Epsom salts bath (magnesium), tums (for the calcium), bananas (for potassium), magnesium drink, stretching, hearing pad.

I would love some new ideas or solutions. Thanks!

Edited to add more details:

- The cramps are always at night.
- Often concentrated in my calves.
- Not a sharp intense pain, more a dull throbbing achey pain.
- Feels like poor circulation or something.

- Possibly restless leg syndrome:  "The condition causes an uncomfortable, "itchy," "pins and needles," or "creepy crawly" feeling in the legs. The sensations are usually worse at rest, especially when lying or sitting."

- I will be going to my GP and requesting a blood test to determine if I am nuttier deficient

- I think the pains are worse or more noticeable now because I am awake a lot during the night (thanks to baby) whereas previously I might have just slept through the pain.

- Also, just tonight it has for the first time been experienced in my arms :(
Damn!
« Last Edit: September 27, 2017, 03:21:18 AM by lifejoy »

kamille

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Neonatal ICU RN
Re: Cures for leg cramps
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 02:15:57 AM »
Maybe acupuncture? Sounds like you are doing a lot so far! Good luck!

Comar

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 02:28:30 AM »