Author Topic: How Understanding the Marginal Utility of Money Will Make you Happier  (Read 9756 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Really well written article by The Happy Philosopher.

http://thehappyphilosopher.com/how-understanding-the-marginal-utility-of-money-will-make-you-happier/

At first I thought it was going to be "yeah yeah" just nodding along and skimming, because most of us here are familiar with the concept, and so it'd be mostly useful for people not, but I found myself getting really engrossed.  He explains the marginal utility of money, but then links it to time, and how time is more valuable as we get older, and then links it to frugality and how these three interplay.

Just a well written article that I think people here will enjoy, even if the concepts aren't entirely new.  And probably a mind blowing article to share with friends if they aren't familiar with the concept(s).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Caoineag

• Pencil Stache
    • My Journal
Re: How Understanding the Marginal Utility of Money Will Make you Happier
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2016, 09:08:52 AM »
Definitely a well written article. As we get older (and more fed up with our jobs which are extremely high stress), we value our time more and more and money less and less.

Bicycle_B

• Handlebar Stache
  • Mustachian-ish in Live Music Capital of the World
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2016, 09:21:10 AM »
Good summary.

okits

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2016, 07:24:30 PM »