Author Topic: Meditations by Marcus Aurelius - Feb 2013 MMM Book Club Discussion  (Read 6083 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
This thread is for discussion of Meditations by Marcus Aurelius; the MMM Book Club's February 2013 book.

In addition to almost every public library in the nation, Meditations can be found free online in both HTML Form, to read online in your browser and eBook form, to download and read on your eBook reader of choice.

I figured this would be a fun, easy one, because it has so many quotable lines. This text file of the whole book may be useful for searching through (control+f) to easily copy/paste your favorite quotes over to here.

Feel free to share your favorite quotes from Meditations!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2013, 08:28:03 AM by arebelspy »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Meditations by Marcus Aurelius - Feb 2013 MMM Book Club Discussion
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2013, 08:35:27 AM »
I came over to unlock this thread, clicked on the links, and got sucked into reading different snippets for a half hour!

I was having fun doing searches for things like "truth," "virtue," "justice," etc. and reading the corresponding thoughts.

Here's two quotes I enjoyed while reading:
Adorn thyself with simplicity and modesty and with indifference towards the things which lie between virtue and vice. Love mankind.

If any man is able to convince me and show me that I do not think or act right, I will gladly change; for I seek the truth by which no man was ever injured. But he is injured who abides in his error and ignorance.