Author Topic: The Impact of Kids on Monthly Spending  (Read 3560 times)

FrugalBuff

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
The Impact of Kids on Monthly Spending
« on: March 18, 2017, 10:45:44 PM »
Can anyone here that religiously tracks their expenses share the difference in their monthly spending before and after having a child?

I have heard some people say they spend less after having a kid since they stop drinking, traveling, eating out, etc. I'm curious how this community's expenses have changed. My husband and I are considering starting a family but I'm afraid that we don't have enough income to support a child.

Thanks for sharing!

kayvent

• Pencil Stache
Re: The Impact of Kids on Monthly Spending
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 01:24:12 AM »
I got into an argument with a number of coworkers a few moths ago because I claimed my child was monthly cash flow positive. So being a programmer, I made a spreadsheet. For the year 2015 I calculated that my child generated a bit more than 99$ a month on average. The main reasons why this was positive was due to government programs like the UTCB, CCTB, NBCTB, NCBS, NBLITR, increased GST/HST Rebate, and getting the additional ~13K off of my taxable income for being a single parent. The reason it wasn't in the 300+ range is because I invest 200$/month into a registrared education savings plan (RESP) for my child and in 2015 the average child support payment received was 0.42$/month.