Author Topic: Serious lack of motivation (at work) since baby - tips?  (Read 15779 times)

dinkhelpneeded

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Silicon Valley RE-FIRE
Serious lack of motivation (at work) since baby - tips?
« on: August 02, 2017, 05:14:01 PM »
I used to love my job, and on paper things are great, and its a highly visible, rewarding project I am working on. However I feel like sinking into the ground and disappearing. I am shirking work, moving it around and generally feeling stuck. I used to be a high performer. I have a masters degree and 6+ years of work experience, I am in general a highly independent individual and can do mostly everything I put my mind to.

I have felt this way (no motivation) since the baby came around (1 year ago) - I moved to a new role thinking that would help, but no, nothing. Company is great, pay is good, flexible but I feel shitty. I also attribute it to us being frugal all these years and knowing that we will be OK on one income.

I described it to my husband as "I feel like I want to be taken care of" and "I want to sleep". I tried outsourcing many tasks but in general it feels unhappy and some of those tasks I do feel like I want to do them "as a mom". I also get this sense that I dont fit well with the "corporate structure" and maybe I will be better off on my own as self employed or a complete career change. I also understand that the toddler ages coming up my son will be more challenging and I will probably need to rely on continuing daycare (even if I quit my job).

I dont see myself doing "nothing", but I definitely am confused. I've been dragging my feet at my job for a year now, and I can hang on for longer, but I want to make some changes quick.

• Its a first world problem I get it, but i would like to know if anyone else has felt this way?
  • Were you a new mom?
  • How did you tackle it?

okits

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Serious lack of motivation (at work) since baby - tips?