Author Topic: SAHP Side Hustle Ideas?  (Read 4887 times)

MinnieAG

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
SAHP Side Hustle Ideas?
« on: June 19, 2017, 10:45:58 PM »
My husband and I would like to start a family within the next few years, and it is a huge goal/aspiration of mine to stay at home with our children. As DINKs, we are preparing for this transition by saving/investing nearly 100% of my paycheck to practice living on my husband's salary alone. However, I would feel more secure in our decision for me to become a SAHM if I knew there were legitimate side hustle options that I could persue if we wanted/needed additional income. Are there any SAHPs out there with ideas/advice/strategies??

A bit of background: I graduated with a bachelor's degree in marketing just a few years ago. I held a few marketing-related internships during school, but got into sales after graduation. Because my current job involves traveling to visit clients, I expect that it will not be flexible enough for me to maintain while staying home with children.

MayDay

• Magnum Stache
Re: SAHP Side Hustle Ideas?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2017, 06:08:22 AM »
I substitute taught but that works better once your kids are school aged.

You can teach at a gym- if they have childcare, your kid can go for free usually.

I watched an extra kid one day a week. O couldn't handle doing it full time, but one day a week was great.

Don't think you'll be able to really work much if at all with a baby at home. Or a toddler. Maybe a preschooler. Maybe. You won't have much free time and you'll want to use what you have to do things like bathe and wipe your butt in peace.

LadyStache in Baja

• Pencil Stache
    • My Casa Caoba: Making meaning in Mexico
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2017, 12:49:25 PM »