Author Topic: Newly single mom figuring it all out  (Read 3810 times)

Sweetpotatofries

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newly single mom figuring it all out
« on: June 19, 2018, 11:56:16 AM »
I am a newly single mom to a 15 month old little nugget. My husband and I were both fairly Mustachian and the divorce is for other reasons I can't share here, but suffice it to say, he has become very un-Mustachian in his attempts to inflate his expenses to decrease support. Oh well. I'm trying to move on and shake off the knowledge that our fairly substantial stache for two twentysomethings (we had hit 500k) is essentially gone, and my little guy and I need to start over.

Just looking for any tips that other single parents here (or I suppose re-partnered people who ever experienced divorce or single parenthood) have about ways to save on childcare, creative ways to establish work-from-home income (I am a writer and looking into Contena and other platforms?), and generally how to start rebuilding a stache as a party of one plus a little one.

Dee18

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Newly single mom figuring it all out
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2018, 12:16:43 PM »
How did 500K disappear?

Sweetpotatofries

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2018, 12:18:36 PM »
How did 500K disappear?

Something the courts call a Guardian Ad Litem. Plus attorneys who charge 500+ an hour and high conflict personalities who suddenly thrive on spending $1,000 to fight over $100. You would not believe the racket that is the Family Court system - it drains even very well off parents, and oftentimes causes people to spend money they don't have.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2018, 12:22:52 PM by Sweetpotatofries »

erutio

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2018, 12:52:00 PM »
Don't have any specific advice yet, but just wanted to tell you sorry about the hardship you are going through and I wish you the best of luck.

Do you have sole or joint custody?

formerlydivorcedmom

• Pencil Stache