Author Topic: My 9 year old's dislike towards school  (Read 5376 times)

whywork

• Stubble
My 9 year old's dislike towards school
« on: August 19, 2018, 11:56:14 PM »
Today my 9 year old kid asked me why she needs to go to school (especially tomorrow being the Monday morning). She tells me she doesn't like going to school and she instead prefers staying home and spending her time doing things she likes (art, playing, reading story books etc...).

I was not able to give a good reason to go to school other than social status (if someone asks me who I am, I'll say I am an engineer or I went to school at so and so) and may be being able to retire bit quicker (this may not be true as well, a person who skips college and works instead and invests his college funds can retire in 10-15 years as well).

I feel her situation is very similar to mine and most of us here who hate being tied up to a 9-5 job and want to FIRE. I am scared to do it but I want to really give my daughter permission to skip school and have fun in doing the things she likes. She can homeschool or even study only the things that add value to her life. I honestly felt I wasted a lot of time studying so many things in my life that were never useful to me. All for the fear of not being able to survive later. How is the below plan for my daughter, let me know what you think of it

- Skip school and do things she likes; Have fun but also have some discipline and read books (non-fiction) that she likes with some goals.
- Build some useful skills that can help her get a job better than a minimum wage
- At 17, open an investment account for her with 150k (her college fee equivalent) and let her start on some job; even a min. wage one. She will stay with us and saves up all her earnings in the investment account.