Author Topic: Boy haircut tips?  (Read 4129 times)

Millennialworkerbee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Boy haircut tips?
« on: November 17, 2017, 11:21:59 AM »
I am attempting little man's first haircut (1.5 years old)! Does anyone have any good advice/instructions?

I cut my hair, and did my husbands once (messed up around the ears so I wasn't invited back) so I'm not a total noob, but I am when it comes to toddler haircuts. We have hair scissors and also hair clippers. I don't want to do a buzz cut all over, we want a little length on top. But otherwise I am open to any "style".

Thanks!

howlongisnow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Boy haircut tips?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2017, 03:37:47 PM »
I cut my son's hair. I typically use the clippers - 1" guard on the top, 3/4" guard on the sides, and try to taper them. I've been doing it for about a year and gradually getting better. His latest haircut I did mostly with scissors because his mom wanted the top to be longer so it laid down better. I used clippers on the sides then blended with the scissors.

I would look on YouTube for some videos of people walking through it, it's a pretty painless process, but seeing someone do it helps And if you really mess it up, just buzz it all down. It'll be back before you know it.

Some of the blended spots might look a little rough initially. Don't worry about that. As the hair grows out over the next few days it'll be increasingly less obvious, and better than panicking and chopping it all off because a spot is a little uneven.

howlongisnow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2017, 03:39:41 PM »
Oh, I also let him watch a show on the tablet when we're cutting hair. I prop it up on the edge of the bathtub in the winter, and on a bench outside in the summer. Keeps him focused and looking at one spot, and reduces fidgeting.