Author Topic: Become "stay at home dad" while kids are preschool?  (Read 11154 times)

beekeeper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Become "stay at home dad" while kids are preschool?
« on: July 24, 2018, 10:07:55 AM »
We have two boys (3 & 4) and I'm thinking about taking a few years off work to be responsible for them and then to return to work once they are settled in school. The motivation is to do one thing well (raise kids) instead of two things so-so (raise kids and work).

Currently my wife and I are each working about 60% and juggling the kids with the help of a nanny. I work as a consultant and my hours are flexible but I feel the pressure to always make a good impression. I find it frustrating to switch back and forth between work and kids and feel like I am half-assing both roles.

Maybe better to whole-ass taking care of the kids until they are busy with school? Have other people done this? I'm thinking it is much easier starting at 3 & 4 than with a newborn?

I am not currently thinking about homeschooling, etc, though I was unschooled myself and I suppose that taking more responsibility for the kids now could make these Plan B/C options more realistic if they became interesting later.

We are not FIRE but I actually enjoy working when I'm able to do it on my own schedule with plenty of time.

Hula Hoop

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Become "stay at home dad" while kids are preschool?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2018, 01:20:50 PM »
I think the main thing to ask is if you'd be able to jump back into your career at more or less the same level in a few years' time.  I have a teacher friend who stayed home with her kids for a few years and then jumped back into it when they were older but this doesn't work as well for some other careers - particularly if they are technology based as tech moves so fast.

Also - while you are home with the kids, will your wife contribute to your retirement accounts?

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2018, 02:53:36 PM »