Author Topic: What is this? 401k Company "stock fund"  (Read 6505 times)

Chranstronaut

• Pencil Stache
What is this? 401k Company "stock fund"
« on: July 30, 2014, 10:08:42 AM »
I work at a Fortune 500 company with many good 401k options and a 6% match on 401k.  I am new to investing and am going the low-fee index fund route both in my 401k and my taxed accounts.  I'm happy with my 401k choices, but there is one option that I don't really understand.  They call it a "Company Stock Fund".

Does anyone have experience with this?  I've combed the fine print in the fund information and have found the following:
-Price of fund units is the same as stock price of the day
-You don't actually own stock, but a unit in the fund with equivalent value as current stock price
-1-4% of fund is kept in cash to cover members' withdrawals
-There doesn't appear to be any discount when buying and there is no additional company match, just the same 6% as other funds
-There is a quarterly dividend payment that can be cashed out or re-invested
-Short term trade fees are 1.5% and fund fee is 0.05% (this is nearly the same as the index funds)

It seems to me that if I wanted to own stock in the company, I should just buy it on my own.  Why would I want to buy this fund when it is not actually stock, is not diversified and the only advantage is tax deferment?  It's doesn't seem like the worst choice, but it doesn't make sense to me.

Does anyone use something like this? What would you do if it were offered to you?

Chranstronaut

• Pencil Stache
Re: What is this? 401k Company "stock fund"
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2014, 10:13:00 AM »
And a followup question:

A huge number of employees here are eligible to retire in the next 10 years.  Since this fund is only for current and former employees, what will it do to the fund if 25% of members start cashing out for retirement at the same time?  Since fund prices are tied to stock prices, maybe it won't really have an effect?

Cromacster