Author Topic: What do you think of adding a low% of crypto allocation  (Read 243053 times)

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
Re: What do you think of adding a low% of crypto allocation
« Reply #1900 on: November 27, 2023, 10:23:36 AM »
Alibaba planned to raise money from the IPO of its cloud business, which it called off owing to tensions between the U.S. and China.  They decided to dump their quantum computing research - not reduce, but end the entire thing.  I'm not an expert in quantum computing, but this sounds like a company with experience deciding it lacks promise when they did cost cutting.

maizefolk - Your example shows a roughly 10x gap between ACH and credit card transaction volume, where the smaller credit card transactions are at a disadvantage.  For Bitcoin and Lightning Network, transaction size may be one factor, but it is not enough by itself to explain a roughly 3000x difference in transaction volume.

Bitcoin has many mining pools, where large groups of miners transfer fractions of bitcoin back and forth among each other when they find a block (generating many transactions with zero economic value).
"zero econonomic value" is your opinion - not a fact.  Up above I cited sources for my data - can you do the same for your claim of "zero economic value"?

The reality is that groups of miners earn a blockchain reward together, and then divide the profits.

I get that.

I'm saying that these transactions generate churn for bitcoin, but it's a closed loop.  Miners group together, find a bitcoin, split it among themselves.  Zero economic value because no economic action has taken place.  Nothing has been bought, sold, or traded.  It's an ouroboros.

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #1901 on: November 27, 2023, 10:40:35 AM »