Author Topic: USD 750,000 of cash, not invested, need advice.  (Read 30085 times)

illiterate

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
USD 750,000 of cash, not invested, need advice.
« on: September 26, 2016, 04:26:57 AM »
Hello all. I am 32 and have been a very good saver. On an ordinary income, I managed to save about USD 750,000 mostly due to a very high savings rate and living outside the United States in a country with very low income tax – this amount is not invested and is sitting as cash (both in the US accounts and abroad) earning nothing. There were always reasons for me not to invest, but it was mostly due to lack of financial education and my own ignorance.

First, I was saving money to buy a house as mortgage rates in the country where I live are extremely high and it was logical to buy a house with 100% cash. Then, the stock market crashed and as a young professional I was very hesitant to invest as I could be subject to a redundancy without any severance package as I was not vested. Therefore, due to the great recession and very uncertain economic situation, I was saving cash for the house and was scared to invest – nobody could predict such amazing stock growth between 2009 and 2014. In summary, I simply missed the bull market of the last 4-5 years mostly due to my ignorance and lack of financial education.

I am US citizen (although I have not lived in the US more than 10 yrs now), working for a subsidiary of the UK company in Eastern Europe. I do have an intention to return to the US. I have US bank accounts and US address, but am not US resident at the moment.