Author Topic: Taxable VTSAX - took the plunge  (Read 4922 times)

doneby35

• Bristles
Taxable VTSAX - took the plunge
« on: April 20, 2017, 06:04:15 PM »
So i've been holding off on this for a few months now because of the market being high and all, but since my 401K, HSA, tIRA is all being maxed out, I said F it and bought 10k of VTSAX.

I have 20k more that I would like to transfer from my bank account and buy more VTSAX, that would leave me with 6 months of emergency stash in my savings account but at this point, I feel like I need someone to tell me that I won't be making the wrong decision by doing that, considering that I plan to retire in 10 years. Anyone??

Abe

• Magnum Stache
Re: Taxable VTSAX - took the plunge
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 07:07:12 PM »
If you're worried about taxes - the capital gains will be long-term in 1 year so you can potentially pay 0% if you play your cards right.

If you're worried about principal loss from a stock market plunge - 10 years is a reasonable recovery horizon. I'm not sure how this would be different from any of your other accounts, though. If this makes you nervous, look at buying bonds to get a more balanced asset allocation.

Proud Foot

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2017, 09:38:35 AM »
If you invest and the market then tanks, that's ok because over the long run the market always goes up and it has a very high chance of outpacing inflation. On the other hand by keeping it all in cash or a CD you are guaranteeing yourself to lose to inflation every year. Yes you could invest and then the market tank and you feel bad about not being able to buy in at the lower prices.  But now your trying to time the market and what happens if the market prices never drop?

doneby35

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2017, 05:05:09 PM »
Of course you are right, I'm just overthinking and i'm trying to convince myself to invest the remaining 20k in VTSAX next week.

WildJager

• Bristles
    • Can't complain.