Author Topic: Switching portfolio to 100% stock temporarily?  (Read 2967 times)

DanP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Switching portfolio to 100% stock temporarily?
« on: March 26, 2020, 11:18:36 AM »
Is there anything wrong with putting my monthly contributions into 100% stocks right now that they're so low - or even selling my current 80/20 portfolio to buy 100% stocks? Is this considered "timing the market" or being smart about it?

I am new to investing, and want to build good habits here, so I am wary of fallacies in my thinking. But I don't see it, hence why I'm reaching out. As I see it, buy low and ride the wave back up. I am thinking of investing future monthly contributions in 100% stocks until markets get back to what they were (possibly a long time, understood), and then investing mostly in bonds to get the ratio back to that 80/20 or so.

Am I fundamentally wrong somewhere here? I feel like this falls into "timing markets" which I have learned is "bad" but I simply cannot see how it would be bad to buy cheap stocks. I know a lot of Couch Potatoes just stay at that 80/20 and don't even think about it. This makes me second-guess myself.

Currently, I have a 80/20 stock/ bond split and am very securely employed. I have a long time until retirement, so I'm okay with risk/ loss if it leads that way. I took a big hit with the crash, but not worried about it at all (which is another thing that worries me, but that's a different matter).

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
Re: Switching portfolio to 100% stock temporarily?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2020, 11:49:33 AM »
Are you sure you want to buy something that has lost -22% this year so far?
If that attempt to scare you didn't work, then I'd agree you should buy.

I like to think of it as everyone who bought since the start of the year lost money, and now you can beat all of them by purchasing now.  You beat 3 months worth of people investing, rather than focusing on the drop.

PDXTabs

• Walrus Stache