Author Topic: S&P 500 vs vanguard funds  (Read 3070 times)

Frugal_Technician

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
S&P 500 vs vanguard funds
« on: May 09, 2017, 12:32:21 PM »
Main question in title but some extra details
Im a young guy (24) and I work as an apprentice heating technician (made the list of MMMs 5@ jobs!) i can afford to save around 20k a year between me and my SO.

Should I be investing in the s&p 500 thru fidelity (I think this is an optio ), or should I be putting my savings in a vanguard managed fund? S&p seems like it has higher returns by a slight margin but is also more volatile.

I have no debts, great credit, and more or less sustainable income. My prospects for income increase down the line are also high. I feel I have some good chips lined up to retire in my 40s. Looking for experienced advise about the best place to put my money.

My company doesn't have a 401k or retirement plan AFAIK. I don't really understand the ins and outs of all that but I need a place to put my money where it will grow. I have a fidelity and a vanguard.

PlainsWalker

• Stubble
Re: S&P 500 vs vanguard funds
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2017, 01:20:32 PM »
Welcome to the forums.

I'd start with giving the stock series over at jlcollinsnh.com a read. You're asking the right questions and Jims' folksy wisdom should get you going in the general direction you would like to go.

Proud Foot

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2017, 01:29:57 PM »
What Vanguard managed fund are you talking about?  They have several who have done well along with most index funds. Read the stock series PlainsWalker posted as well as creating an Investment Policy Statement .  A lot of people here advocate for Vanguard because of their low expense ratios and how the company is structured. 

bacchi

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2017, 01:44:15 PM »
Fidelity has a total market index fund, FSTMX. Its expenses are crazy low like Vanguard's VTSMX.