Author Topic: Should I sell my Amazon stock to put in my 401k?  (Read 3543 times)

amazinglyandrew

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I sell my Amazon stock to put in my 401k?
« on: July 14, 2017, 09:18:46 AM »
I work for Amazon and received 10 shares of stock recently. I don't make a ton of money (I'm not a programmer) but in the last six months since discovering the concept of FIRE I have turned some things around and will be putting about $13k in my 401k this year (vs. $2.5k last year). I would love to max out my $18k limit on the 401k, and if I sell some stock I could. Is that the right call?

Other options would be to leave it alone, or to move it into an index fund separate from the 401k. A complicating factor is that we are hoping to build a house in the next couple years (we have an empty lot in a great area so it will be an amazing return on investment) so it kind of makes sense to hold on to some liquid funds for a down payment, though there will be more stock vesting in the future, and the timeline on that is hard to pin down since the city is making it hard for us. We have paid off all debt except our mortgage (3.3%) and our car loan (0%) so there is no high-interest debt to repay (yes we could sell our Forester and get a cheaper used car it's true).

I hope this isn't a dumb question--obviously I wouldn't lower my 401k deduction to go out and buy Amazon stock, so maybe it's clear that I should sell the stock and raise the 401k, but I think because this whole "smart investing" thing is new to me I'm not confident about it. Maybe I'm missing some info about taxes and capital gains or something, you know? Thanks!

amazinglyandrew

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Should I sell my Amazon stock to put in my 401k?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 09:30:29 AM »
p.s. I'm wondering if this should have been posted in the Ask a Mustachian board--can someone move it for me if so? Thanks.

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2017, 10:39:27 AM »