Author Topic: Sell T Rowe vs Buy VTSAX  (Read 4466 times)

happylife17

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Sell T Rowe vs Buy VTSAX
« on: March 14, 2017, 10:59:03 AM »
Hello,

I was wondering anyone could please give me advice or tell me if I am on the right track.  I am pretty new to the whole investing thing and obviously did not know what I was doing when I set up my IRA.  In case you are wondering I am 32 - don't know if this will make a difference. 

I currently have a Roth IRA with T Rowe Price and I have it invested in (3) separate funds.  The IRA is worth about $12,400 and the expense ratios are (.87%, .82% and .67%).  I transferred my account over to Vanguard in hopes of selling these funds and just investing the total amount in VTSAX.  There is a $35 fee for selling each fund.

Would it make sense for me to sell even though I am being charged $105 to sell these funds?  I feel like in the long run I would benefit more from the lower expense ratio in VTSAX.

Any suggestions?

Thank you!!

El Marinero

• Stubble
Re: Sell T Rowe vs Buy VTSAX
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 11:03:28 AM »
I can't see any upside in staying longer in those high expense funds.

I'd consider the $105 as cheap tuition for a valuable lesson

TheAnonOne

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2017, 12:42:44 PM »
I can't see any upside in staying longer in those high expense funds.

I'd consider the $105 as cheap tuition for a valuable lesson
Agreed.

$105 is just barely over a years worth of fees. So after 1 year you are a head. Easy choice.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

MrGville

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2017, 12:45:41 PM »
Go ahead and sell.  As mentioned above, your fees for the year are likely close to $100, so its smart to sell now and get into some cheaper funds.

TheAnonOne

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2017, 12:56:54 PM »
Well.

$12,400 * .0087 = $107.88

Which is assuming all of the money is in the highest fee fund. So the real expense is a bit lower...