Author Topic: Schwab vs vanguard for index funds  (Read 24857 times)

Corrugated Ironic

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Schwab vs vanguard for index funds
« on: April 01, 2017, 12:16:10 PM »
Schwab published this fee schedule recently: https://www.schwab.com/public/schwab/nn/m/indexfunds.html Looks like their fees have dropped significantly.

So my basic understanding of Schwab & Vanguard is they do fairly similar things, and generally are both decent options for index funds. I see a lot on the blog & here on the forums about Vanguard (including the S vs V thread from feb 2015). I have a Schwab account I've been using for a few years- is there any reason for me to look into opening a V account as well?

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Schwab vs vanguard for index funds
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2017, 02:45:45 PM »
As long as you are using Schwab's low fee offerings then you are ok.

Fidelity, Schwab, and Vanguard "all have good offerings."  Vanguard is better than both Fidelity and Schwab at "having all good offerings."

E.g., see Other than Vanguard, Boglehead-style.

aspiringnomad

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2017, 12:28:02 AM »
I have a Schwab account I've been using for a few years- is there any reason for me to look into opening a V account as well?

Absolutely not. Schwab offers lower fees and top-notch customer service. Vanguard offers a great governance structure, but somewhat higher fees and poor customer service (comparatively). I've been a client of both. My recommendation is to stick with Schwab unless this situation changes.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2017, 10:55:34 AM by aspiringnomad »

Mighty-Dollar

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2017, 02:39:03 AM »
Don't forget SPDR and iShares.

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2017, 06:07:28 AM »
Vanguard, Schwab, and Fidelity are all good options, the three of them plus the online trading platforms completely changed this industry in one way or another.