Author Topic: Roth IRA vs Plain Index Funds  (Read 2526 times)

CEG

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth IRA vs Plain Index Funds
« on: July 03, 2018, 09:33:36 PM »
Hello everyone, forgive me if this question has been asked, but I'm new to the forum and also new to investing.

I'd like to invest a small amount of savings and I am unsure whether or not to create a Roth IRA.  About me: I am currently a medical resident making about 25% of the money that I intend to be making in a few years, when I complete my residency.  This would seem to point me toward a Roth Ira, as I will likely be in a higher tax bracket in the future than in the present.

But I also intend to retire early.  Is it possible to live off of the returns from a Roth IRA if one retires much before age 60, or will I be penalized?  Is it more beneficial to just use a regular Vanguard or Betterment account to invest in index funds?  Am I forgetting traditional IRAs?  401Ks?

Thank you for taking the time.
CEG

SwitchActiveDWG

• Stubble
Re: Roth IRA vs Plain Index Funds
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2018, 05:20:21 AM »
Do you have access to a 401k?

Yes it is possible to live off returns from a Roth before 60 but it’s not the optimal way. Also a Roth IRA is a tax sheltered account that can be used to invest in Index funds (through Vangiard, Betterment, etc..) so you can invest in index funds with a Vanguard account and have those investments under a Roth.

See this thread:
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/investment-order/

And this one:
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/how-to-withdraw-funds-from-your-ira-and-401k-without-penalty-before-age-59-5/
« Last Edit: July 04, 2018, 05:22:31 AM by SwitchActiveDWG »

CEG

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2018, 10:24:17 AM »