Author Topic: Question Regarding Investment Order and 401ks  (Read 1369 times)

RePatriot

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question Regarding Investment Order and 401ks
« on: July 10, 2017, 05:24:18 PM »
I'm very new to this, so please be gentle.  DW and I have been solid savers, and after relocating back to the US, we are trying to establish good investment habits.

I've opened and plan on maxing a tIRA and HSA this year.  My new job as a Texas charter school teacher also offers a 401k.  There is no match and I don't have a full view of the funds available, but from what I've seen it seems like the rates are expensive with a lot of fees attached.  As well, I've read a lot about whole stock market investing and it seems like most of the funds are managed and largely inconsistent with my plan for a three fund portfolio. 

As far as I can tell, I'm not eligible for 457 or 403b plans right now.  Ultimately my question boils down to this: If my 401k options suck but I don't want to be limited to HSA+IRA contributions, do I bite the bullet and eat the fees, or do I have options?

bender

• Pencil Stache
Re: Question Regarding Investment Order and 401ks
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 05:42:21 PM »
investigate the options in the 401k, there may be something good hiding in there.  Depending on your total household income (marginal rate), you're still likely better off investing in the 401k to save on taxes now.  Even if the fund is charging 1% or more.

List out the funds available and their expense ratio here and we can advise.

MDM

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2017, 08:53:34 PM »
Ultimately my question boils down to this: If my 401k options suck but I don't want to be limited to HSA+IRA contributions, do I bite the bullet and eat the fees, or do I have options?
See To 401k or not to 401k? That is the question. for some thoughts on this.

RePatriot

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2017, 05:47:19 PM »