Author Topic: OFFICIAL: Blockchain / Crypto-Currency Portfolios and Discussion  (Read 402395 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: OFFICIAL: Blockchain / Crypto-Currency Portfolios and Discussion
« Reply #150 on: July 17, 2017, 02:17:56 PM »

consider looking back through history with how every market downturn resulted in a market come back at some point.

Well that's not true.

those who kept buying (dollar cost averaging) or just held on, ultimately fared better than those who panicked and sold.

Nor that.

Do you think there's never been any assets that went to zero?

I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

gp_

• Stubble
« Reply #151 on: July 17, 2017, 07:20:39 PM »
Well that's not true.

well, it is. financial markets ultimately recover at some point.

Nor that.
i'm not talking about a single asset, i mentioned markets.

onewayfamily

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #152 on: July 17, 2017, 09:55:44 PM »
There are also some markets that don't go to zero, and do recover, but you'd have to wait decades for the recovery. Which for many people would simply mean they have to exit all/part of their position as they need the money to spend or for other things, or the downturn in that market/asset class simply outlives them.

cheddarpie

• Stubble
« Reply #153 on: July 18, 2017, 06:52:19 AM »
Following with some questions but haven't read the whole thread yet so will do that first ... :)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #154 on: July 18, 2017, 04:49:54 PM »
Well that's not true.

well, it is. financial markets ultimately recover at some point.

Nor that.
i'm not talking about a single asset, i mentioned markets.