Author Topic: Not max out 401k?  (Read 5181 times)

Little Woman

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Not max out 401k?
« on: December 19, 2013, 03:11:47 AM »
Hi all,

I am new to the MMM community. I would like ask for your opinion in regards to our plan to not max out 401k.

Here are some backgrounds.
1) We are double income family with 2 kids that requires a good expense in private school/after school care.
2) Our income hits 25% bracket (or 28%?? not sure).
3) Currently expense is just basic expense with no mortgage. So we are able to max out 401k, Roth IRA and still some extra money for saving.
4) We have 75% in 401k and 25% in Roth IRA. Feel too heavy on 401k. We have about 40-50k as emergency fund. Basically we don't have extra cash on hand for stock market or real estate investment for now.

So we would like to save more cash on hand, waiting for stock market downtown to buy. So we were thinking about reducing contribution in 401k, but still max out Roth IRA and put remaining money aside.

Given our tax bracket, does this make any?

Also, what is your recommendation in terms of proportion between 401k, Roth IRA and taxable investment?

Thanks!

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
Re: Not max out 401k?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2013, 03:35:56 AM »
Hi all,

I am new to the MMM community. I would like ask for your opinion in regards to our plan to not max out 401k.

Here are some backgrounds.
1) We are double income family with 2 kids that requires a good expense in private school/after school care.
2) Our income hits 25% bracket (or 28%?? not sure).
3) Currently expense is just basic expense with no mortgage. So we are able to max out 401k, Roth IRA and still some extra money for saving.
4) We have 75% in 401k and 25% in Roth IRA. Feel too heavy on 401k. We have about 40-50k as emergency fund. Basically we don't have extra cash on hand for stock market or real estate investment for now.