Author Topic: Is making after-tax 401(k) contributions a good idea for me?  (Read 1418 times)

ec2991

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is making after-tax 401(k) contributions a good idea for me?
« on: August 31, 2018, 02:06:35 PM »
I'm new to responsible adult life, and trying to figure out what to do with some spare cash: A little information that might be relevant --

-- 26 y/o single, finished PhD last year, and started first 'real job'
-- income before any taxes: ~75k this year
-- Maxing 401k, IRA, and HSA contributions for the year, no debt

Main question: I have ~40k in cash sitting around, which I don't anticipate needing for a very long time. Terrible, I know.  What's the prudent thing to do with this money? I have a respectable emergency fund apart from this already.

I was thinking I would just put it into my taxable Vanguard account, but I'm wondering if there's a better strategy. If I understand correctly, I could make sizable after-tax contributions to my 401(k), and then move the money into a Roth later. Is that a better idea? Other factors I should be considering?

If it's relevant, the 401(k) is with Fidelity. I haven't figured out yet if I can do in-service distributions (maybe this depends on the plan?) but in any case I'll be leaving this employer within a year or two (it's limited-term academic appointment). Happy to provide more details if they'd be helpful.

not_a_trex

• Stubble
Re: Is making after-tax 401(k) contributions a good idea for me?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2018, 03:08:51 PM »
I think contributing to an after-tax 401k account sounds like a good idea going forward. I don't think you can add money to an after-tax 401k account from a taxable account though. My understanding was contributions had to be from a paycheck.

PDXTabs

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2018, 03:56:02 PM »
I'm not sure that there is a wrong answer for this. You have a lot more options if you just put in in your taxable account.

terran

• Magnum Stache