Author Topic: Investing money set aside for taxes  (Read 9248 times)

Petruchio

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing money set aside for taxes
« on: December 04, 2013, 07:55:29 PM »
Hey all,

I am 24 years old and starting my first real profession as a life insurance agent. I will be looking at 30K-50K for my first year (It is commission-based so there is an uncertainty factor, it can go as low as 18K or up into 100K+). I am not technically an employee of the company and so I will not have my income tax deducted each pay period from my paycheck (a first for me).

I was advised by my general agent to put 20% of each paycheck aside in a separate bank account and forget about its existence until tax time. I am risk tolerant and aggressive in my personal fiscal policy, and I believe placing those dollars to more productive, wealth building use until tax time will be better for my 'Stache.

Possible investments include CDs and treasury bonds, which are nice and safe. However I am unimpressed by the interest rates and I do not feel it is worth the additional effort to set that up. I am currently invested in VDAIX, Vanguard's dividend aristocrat index fund, which has a solid philosophy, but may fluctuate too much. What do you all think is a sensible investment for money set aside for taxes?

Petruchio

brewer12345

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Investing money set aside for taxes
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 08:03:46 PM »
An FDIC insured savings account is where this money should reside until tax time.

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 08:33:32 PM »
Investing your money which you need to pay short term bills (tax or otherwise) is a really great way to be burned and owe people money you no longer have. Investing is a long term process, not a get rich quick scheme.

bigchrisb

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2013, 03:18:25 PM »