Author Topic: How often do you calculate your networth  (Read 8603 times)

NorCal

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How often do you calculate your networth
« Reply #50 on: October 31, 2018, 09:45:02 AM »
My net worth updates daily in Quicken.  I keep a pretty close eye on it, as well as spending.  I don't pay too much attention to the ups and downs of the market, although this pull-back has been much more noticeable (mostly because I have more invested).

I update the value of my illiquid assets (house, cars) once a year in January. 

OzzieandHarriet

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: October 31, 2018, 10:00:22 PM »
I've been checking it about once a month for the past three years. I was afraid to look this month, but finally did it today - we lost about $100k (!). And DH just retired last week.

However, we don't have plans to change anything. We're basically 60/40 across all accounts.

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #52 on: November 01, 2018, 01:40:05 AM »
A spreadsheet calculates my net worth every time I visit it.  But I'm not looking at the number so much as the delta.  If markets have dropped, then it might be time to rebalance into the recently cheaper stocks.

Villanelle

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #53 on: November 01, 2018, 01:52:19 AM »
Literally never.