Author Topic: Help me understand my 401k and options!!  (Read 1752 times)

Jumpingbean

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help me understand my 401k and options!!
« on: July 30, 2019, 01:13:29 PM »
I have been working for about 4 years now and have been maxing out my 401k the last 2 years. When I first set it up I just picked something so I could start contributing. I picked a target date fund with an expense ratio of 0.40%.
Here it is below:
3 Month :   3.80%
YTD :   16.56%
1 Year :   6.45%
3 Year :   12.14%
5 Year :   7.58%
10 Year :   -
Since Inception :   11.22%
01/13/2012
Gross Expense Ratio :   0.40%
Net Expense Ratio :   0.40%

Here are all my options with corresponding ER:
STOCKS
+AMER BEAC SMALL CAP VAL INST  AVFIX + 1   0.81%
+AMG TIMESSQUARE INTL SML CAP N TCMPX 1   1.23%
+DODGE & COX INTL STOCK DODFX + 1   0.63%
+GROWTH STOCK TRUST CLASS B GBT + 1 2   0.45%
+INST LARGE-CAP VALUE FUND TILCX + 1   0.57%
+INVESCO OPPENHEIMER DVP MKT R6 ODVIX 1   0.85%
+LORD ABBETT DEVELOPING GROWTH LADYX 1   0.68%
+MID-CAP GROWTH FUND RPMGX + 1   0.75%
+VANGUARD INST INDEX VINIX + 1   0.04%

BONDS
+BLACKROCK HIGH YIELD BOND K BRHYX 1   0.50%
+PIMCO TOTAL RETURN INSTL PTTRX 1 3   0.55%

Questions:
Would it be worthwhile to take my funds (100% invested in target date fund) and put it in the Vanguard option above? The vanguard one Seems like a better deal when it comes to expense ratios.
My AA with target date fund is 86% stocks/11% bonds/3% other.

If I do make a switch, do I put 86% of funds into vanguard fund and the other 14% into one of the bond options? If I put 100% into vanguard fund, that means I’m 100% stocks and no bonds, right?

Or, since it’s clear I don’t really know what I’m doing, should I just keep it in the target date fund?

FIRE 20/20

• Pencil Stache
Re: Help me understand my 401k and options!!
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2019, 06:12:25 PM »