Author Topic: Help me maximize contributions and tax advantages  (Read 2578 times)

diffusate

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help me maximize contributions and tax advantages
« on: February 20, 2018, 09:01:53 AM »
I need a little help! I'm about to get proceeds from a house sale, approximately $400k. I currently work as an independent contractor. Last year I earned about $55k and this year will be about $60k. I want to put as much as possible into tax advantaged accounts.

I've already maxed my 2017 Roth IRA. From my research I'm eligible for an SEP. I set one up through Vanguard, but can someone help clarify the maximum contributions? Can I still contribute for 2017 as well as 2018?

Anything else I should consider? HSA? I have a high deductible plan through the ACA.

Thanks!

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
Re: Help me maximize contributions and tax advantages
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2018, 07:19:36 PM »
Are you sure you need to put the money into tax-deferred space?

E.g., if you put the money into (say) a total stock market index and earn roughly $8K in potentially qualified dividends that are taxed and (say) another $8K of untaxed capital gains, is it possible the $8K of dividends won't even be taxed?

P.S. If your taxable income is less than $39K with the qualified divs and you're single... or if your taxable income is less than $74K with the qualified dividends and you're married... your qualified dividends tax rate is 0%.

Bicycle_B

• Handlebar Stache
  • Mustachian-ish in Live Music Capital of the World
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2018, 09:09:59 PM »
I'm not a tax expert, so please use my remarks as a research starting point rather than taking them as gospel.  Here are a couple of tricks (ok, basic tax techniques for small business owners) as I understand them.  I haven't used these personally, just read about them while trying to plan ahead.  Please accept any corrections from wise commenters (such as SeattleCPA!).