Author Topic: From a beginner: tax-advantaged way to invest a windfall?  (Read 2824 times)

jtwenty83

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
From a beginner: tax-advantaged way to invest a windfall?
« on: January 24, 2018, 08:16:44 PM »
Hi all, have been reading with great interest but this is my first post!

I'm brand new to all this and excited to get started... so please forgive me if this is a basic question.

How should I invest a real estate windfall? More specifically, I want to index the money but am confused as to whether there is any tax advantaged way to do so.

I believe my income prohibits me from opening a Roth... and even if I could, I couldn't contribute that much in at once, right? Is there anything else? And if the answer is no, then is there a particular fund that's best suited for non-tax-advantaged accounts?

Some background, in case that's helpful:
-- $200k real estate windfall after taxes
-- Currently have $125k in 401k
-- $11k in VFIAX, non tax-advantaged account
-- hoping to FIRE in 10 years at 45

Thanks!!

wawot1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: From a beginner: tax-advantaged way to invest a windfall?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2018, 10:10:16 PM »
Yes, you can do a Roth IRA ... the so-called "back door Roth IRA".  Basically, you open a non-deductible traditional IRA and then shortly thereafter convert it to a Roth IRA.

https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/retirement-accounts/backdoor-roth-ira/
https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/backdoor-roth-ira-tutorial/

If you haven't already contributed to your 2017 IRA, you could do contributions for 2017 up until April something 2018, as well as your 2018 contributions.   So there's $11k there.  Also, if you're married, your spouse could do the same. 

I'd also look into your company 401(k).  Some 401(k)s allow for the $18.5k pre-tax contributions, as well as matches and "after tax" contributions up to a total of  $55k/year. 

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2018, 10:30:24 PM »

MustacheAndaHalf