Author Topic: Failing Trader  (Read 9784 times)

TripleM

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Failing Trader
« on: July 02, 2018, 02:30:29 PM »
I have been trading stocks, options and forex for the past 10 years and have accumulated a total loss of about $80k.  Usually when I am up, I get over-confident, and then quickly start making bad trade after bad trade until the account blows up. I make around $120k at my full-time job in technology, so I am not as upset about the overall losses, but the repeated failures have proven to be quite a load to carry. I have tried many different chart pattern strategies and the main reason for my failure has usually been my own psychological errors, aka my emotions get the best of me every time.

Has anyone on here gone through any type of failure or loss of similar magnitude in real estate, trading or another endeavor and stuck with it long enough to come out ahead on the other side? I am curious, how did you get through the discouragement that came with the failure?

To be a successful trader, I will need to some how gain confidence, but it is tough to get to a place of confidence when the repeated failures have left me fearful and discouraged and ready to give up on trading entirely.

Part of what I need to do is simply go back to trading my strategies on paper (fake money) until it is proven for 3-6 months and then once proven, using real capital, but it is hard to put any more time into this knowing what the outcome usually is.

Can anyone relate?

Eric

• Magnum Stache
Re: Failing Trader
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2018, 02:54:39 PM »