Author Topic: Do you Get a Good Feeling When the Market is Up the Day After You Invest?  (Read 3711 times)

EdwardMM

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I've been investing for 15 years--mostly in retirement accounts. I still get joy if I have some type of windfall from a business payment or whatever, and I put that money in the market, and the next day the market is up. I get that it's just the standard swells and valleys in the waves. But psychologically it's much easier to see a 1% gain the day after you drop money in the market than a 1% drop.

Today that happened - as I invested $50K at the end of last week in a Betterment Account I just opened. The $50K had been sitting in a savings account and was accumulating dust - it represented revenues from a rental property we managed that I had just been lazy about putting to work.

Do other seasoned investors still feel this way?

Edward

JAYSLOL

• Handlebar Stache
I wouldn't call myself a seasoned investor, I've never dropped a chunk of cash like $50k into an investment account, but yeah I get a small grin on my face when I throw $1k or 2 into my index funds and they bump up 1% the next day.  Not as big as the grin I get when I see dividends have been reinvested into more shares though :)

thenextguy

• Stubble
Not really.  That money you invested could show a loss in the next 12 months. It's pretty meaningless in the long-term.

EdwardMM

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Not really.  That money you invested could show a loss in the next 12 months. It's pretty meaningless in the long-term.

It definitely could! Nevertheless, I like getting started with an increase, even if tomorrow yields a 5% crash.

The 585

Seems like most of the time the opposite happens to me. On Friday I decided to initiate the transfer of a $7000 chunk of savings to Vanguard, but it doesn't buy until the end of the next business day. And of course, to my dismay, I see the stocks surge 1% today, right before my funds will be purchased after close. *face palm*