Author Topic: Bogleheads Forum  (Read 24236 times)

RJC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Bogleheads Forum
« on: December 18, 2018, 12:35:19 PM »
I'm new to both this forum and Bogleheads but I've noticed some cross-forum discussions like the one below.

Do they have a valid point? How do you feel about their philosophy? Are the same folks on both?

https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=266780

Assetup

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Bogleheads Forum
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2018, 01:09:35 PM »
Lots of different perspectives that's for sure!  I'd run your own numbers and see what you're comfortable with. 

Boofinator

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2018, 01:09:44 PM »
Many valid points by the bogleheads. MMM's optimism is great for drawing people into the lifestyle, but it isn't the most realistic on many of the finer points, which the bogleheads did a good job of highlighting.

Even though I disagree with MMM on many of the fine details, it doesn't detract from the message at all. (Unless anyone here is drinking the Kool-Aid.)

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2018, 01:15:09 PM »
I'm new to both this forum and Bogleheads but I've noticed some cross-forum discussions like the one below.

Do they have a valid point? How do you feel about their philosophy? Are the same folks on both?

As you've probably noticed from the responses on the Bogleheads forum, most members over there take a much more conservative approach with WR, and often early retirement is frowned upon (the classic argument being "if you retire early you're missing the best earning years of your life" along with "if you exit the workplace in your 30s, you will have difficulty ever finding a job if/when you want to work again".

Obviously this forum takes a different approach.