Author Topic: Backdoor Roth- mixing post and pre tax money  (Read 1149 times)

FireAnt

• Bristles
Backdoor Roth- mixing post and pre tax money
« on: February 09, 2019, 06:19:22 PM »
I have a traditional IRA with Vanguard that were rollovers from previous employers. Due to my filing status of married filing separately, I cannot contribute to a Roth IRA this year. I would like to do a backdoor Roth, but wondering if this is possible as I've been told you cannot mix post-tax and pre-tax money in the same pot without penalty. Since it will quickly moved from a traditional IRA to the Roth, would I still get penalized and/or have an tax repercussions? I can't seem to get a clear answer on this (also, I'm a newbie). We've already done a backdoor Roth under my husband's name, but it was easier as he doesn't have a traditional or roth IRA.

ILikeDividends

• Bristles
Re: Backdoor Roth- mixing post and pre tax money
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 06:38:59 PM »
It's possible, but your existing IRA could expose your backdoor Roth conversion to the pro-rata rule:

https://www.irahelp.com/slottreport/4-things-know-about-roth-ira-conversions-and-pro-rata-rule
« Last Edit: February 09, 2019, 06:43:12 PM by ILikeDividends »

FireAnt

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2019, 06:46:45 PM »
It's possible, but your existing IRA could expose your backdoor Roth conversion to the pro-rata rule:

https://www.irahelp.com/slottreport/4-things-know-about-roth-ira-conversions-and-pro-rata-rule

Okay, I'm 99% sure that is the penalty I'm referring to. So yes, doing this could in fact create this problem in my situation. Bummer.

ILikeDividends

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2019, 06:55:12 PM »
Yeah, bummer.  :(