Author Topic: Australian Investing Thread  (Read 2589062 times)

Ascotillion

• Stubble
Re: Australian Investing Thread
« Reply #500 on: January 07, 2015, 04:16:49 PM »
Wow, lots of information in here. I'm posting so I can follow along; like a lot of you I'm a beginner who is looking into investing a little bit in the future. Thanks everyone!

terrier56

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #501 on: January 07, 2015, 04:22:30 PM »
Europe right now is starring into a deflationary environment.

After seeing the US recovery in recent year I believe this will give them the green light to start QE which should solve both deflation and weak euro economies (chance for Germany to over inflate). For this reason I will be loading up on VEU over the next couple of months.

deborah

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #502 on: January 07, 2015, 04:41:12 PM »

Thinking that the USD was going to become stronger against AUD I decided to invest reasonably heavily in GOLD during the slump in October/November. It's paid off reasonably well so far. I intend to keep buying the dips when they occur as part of my strategy to diversify towards somewhat of a 'permanent portfolio'.
I was absolutely sure you were crazy for buying gold, but I was obviously completely WRONG. Sorry for doubting you MsRichLife!

MsRichLife

• Pencil Stache
    • Living My Rich Life
« Reply #503 on: January 07, 2015, 05:07:40 PM »

Thinking that the USD was going to become stronger against AUD I decided to invest reasonably heavily in GOLD during the slump in October/November. It's paid off reasonably well so far. I intend to keep buying the dips when they occur as part of my strategy to diversify towards somewhat of a 'permanent portfolio'.
I was absolutely sure you were crazy for buying gold, but I was obviously completely WRONG. Sorry for doubting you MsRichLife!