Author Topic: Australian Investing Thread  (Read 2588959 times)

retiremefast

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Australian Investing Thread
« Reply #4650 on: October 28, 2019, 04:16:17 AM »
Hi @marty998

I am Permanent Resident in Australia, living in Melbourne, paying all my taxes and following all the rules that are in place (earning a salary from a full time job with a contract). Not yet an Australian Citizen - that will come in the next 3 years or so (based on the rules in place for this)
My wife and I we migrate here a year ago (2018) planning the next step in our life (upgrade / evolution)
Going back to Romania is an idea (at the moment) to follow for lowering the cost of life, after preservation age (be it early retirement or normal retirement)
The Superannuation Tax is something I am trying to understand now and make it as efficient as possible, before ever starting the journey. As I said, I am still learning my way in this investing world. This is my plan (if I can make it happen):
1. reach Preservation Age (60 now, may change), keep money in the Super account. Pay my Cost of Life with Salary / Investing earnings
2. reach Pension Age (65 now, may change) moving all my assets into Super account
3. get money from Super using the Super Income Stream and spend money both in Australia (summer time) as well as my other country I chose to spend the rest of the time (most likely Romania for a better cost of living, family, easy traveling opportunities)

Just to be clear, I am not trying to go around the system, I am just trying to use it in my advantage, following the rules. Does this make sense?

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4651 on: October 28, 2019, 02:23:55 PM »
I wasn't saying you were trying to cheat the system. I was trying to make you aware that your residency status would have an impact on your tax situation.