Author Topic: Australian Investing Thread  (Read 2588843 times)

AustralianMustachio

• Stubble
Re: Australian Investing Thread
« Reply #250 on: October 13, 2014, 12:17:54 AM »
Yeah "why?" is pretty much my reaction too

Andy_in_Aus

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #251 on: October 13, 2014, 12:27:05 AM »

Because I'm new to this game, and it popped up on a google search.  I find documents like these have lots of information that I don't know (procedures and language etc), which I then spear off and research.

It's how I learn things, it's not my primary means of gaining knowledge, but puts an Australian contrext to the (often) U.S. investment books.

I'll get back in my box now...

The Falcon

• Stubble
« Reply #252 on: October 13, 2014, 12:42:54 AM »

Because I'm new to this game, and it popped up on a google search.  I find documents like these have lots of information that I don't know (procedures and language etc), which I then spear off and research.

It's how I learn things, it's not my primary means of gaining knowledge, but puts an Australian contrext to the (often) U.S. investment books.

No need to get back in your box Andy, we have all been in your position :)

In short, that Perpetual LIC's fees are expensive and its unproven. Have a look at the material on AFIC and ARGO's sites for cheaper alternatives proven over decades of solid after tax performance. For International exposure (Active Management) I'd be inclined to look at the likes of Platinum or Magellan, both LICs are available on the ASX, or you could buy the "mother ships" (the traded operating companies). For Indexes, you have the likes of VTS and VEU on the ASX. At the other end, you can buy NYSE and NASDAQ listed stocks through most Australian brokerages should you wish to do that.