Author Topic: Australian Investing Thread  (Read 2588837 times)

Coercivity

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Australian Investing Thread
« Reply #1100 on: July 15, 2015, 02:03:46 AM »
Just checked my Vanguard emails and the initial $100k can be split around various wholesale funds. It is the total initial deposit that needs to add to $100k
well, that should resolve Coercivity's dilemma !
It does! Thanks Sparkie, you just made my day!

bruh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #1101 on: July 17, 2015, 08:35:26 PM »
Hey everyone, great thread.

I'm new to MMM so i'm keen to hear everyone's ideas.

I'm 23. About to graduate uni and have a good paying job set up at the start of next year. I have a bit over 30k sitting in a savings account since the FHSA wound down and a about 2k in shares and super each.

I'm a bit stuck for investing ideas at what is a pretty major crossroads. Do I focus on building up super on the assumption that i will be able to take advantage of concessional contributions. Or do i focus on building wealth after tax, which gives me more freedom to buy a PPOR or potentially do a masters or something like that.

Cheers

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #1102 on: July 17, 2015, 10:39:15 PM »

I'm 23. About to graduate uni and have a good paying job set up at the start of next year. I have a bit over 30k sitting in a savings account since the FHSA wound down and a about 2k in shares and super each.

I'm a bit stuck for investing ideas at what is a pretty major crossroads. Do I focus on building up super on the assumption that i will be able to take advantage of concessional contributions. Or do i focus on building wealth after tax, which gives me more freedom to buy a PPOR or potentially do a masters or something like that.

Cheers

House first then investments. Not hard to tell what my thoughts are on that debate :)

Salary sacrifice to super if your income goes above $80k.

micase

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #1103 on: July 18, 2015, 06:58:08 AM »

Cheers