Author Topic: 529 vs. brokerage  (Read 6693 times)

michaelrecycles

• Stubble
529 vs. brokerage
« on: June 16, 2013, 02:05:02 PM »
As detailed in another post, I am nearly decided on opening a taxable account. However, recent reading has me curious about 529 plans.

For illustrative purposes, let's just pretend $10k is waiting for a direction to go. My marginal tax rates are 25% federal and 9.3% CA.

Based on the info below, which comes first in your opinion?

• As a CA resident, I get no state income tax deductions for contributing. However, earnings and withdrawals are tax-free from the feds and state (if used on educational expenses).
  • I have no children yet. Does that make a 529 an automatic no to you, even if I am fairly certain I will have children one day? I would like to allow my children to graduate from university free of debt. (While I realize there are differing opinions on this subject, I have decided I want to do this. My parents sacrificed to do this for me, allowing me a fresh start from zero, rather than starting my post-school life in debt. I also do not believe an 18-year-old can fully grasp the magnitude of taking on student loan debt.) The timeline would be 23-33 years out.
  • If I don't have children or they don't want to go do university, I will pay a penalty for withdrawing the funds for non-qualified expenses.
  • BONUS: If you believe this is the direction to go, do you have a state plan recommendation? My research hasn't yielded a clear-cut winner, but Nevada, Ohio and Utah have come up often.

Taxable
  • Taxed as I go.