Author Topic: 529 College Savings: Bad Idea?  (Read 2735 times)

maz_phil

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
529 College Savings: Bad Idea?
« on: August 31, 2018, 11:50:11 AM »
Hello Mustachians,

I am a 23-year-old recent graduate. I work full time, but plan on attending graduate school within the next 2 years and are looking into the best methods by which to pay for graduate school (other than student loans). I have looked into 529 College Saving Plans, but in Virginia, most advisory plans come with an approximate 4.25% initial fee on all funds contributed. Since this plan is largely a short-term investment strategy, I feel that it would be more appropriate to look for Direct 529 plans with reduced fees, but now I am wondering if I am missing a better, more effective, strategy altogether?

Any experienced investment mustachians out there with strategies that have work for them or that they would recommend? I am looking forward to hopefully hearing from some of you soon.

Happy Friday,
Maz_Phil

haflander

• Bristles
Re: 529 College Savings: Bad Idea?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2018, 11:53:32 AM »
PTF, sorry I don't have any advice. GF will be in grad school for 2-4 years depending on the program she chooses, starting next year.

reeshau

• Magnum Stache
  • Former locations: Detroit, Indianapolis, Dublin
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2018, 11:58:32 AM »
Why wouldn't you be looking at Invest529, the direct-to-consumer plan with passive portfolios run by Vanguard?

https://www.virginia529.com

The plan seems very highly rated at Savingforcollege.

That said, if you are using all the money for 2 years, I wouldn't invest in equities at all.  You could still use a conservative fund option and gain the up-to-$4,000 state tax deduction.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2018, 05:22:31 PM »
hi maz_phil