Author Topic: What to do regarding housing and relocating?  (Read 3310 times)

Spruit

• Handlebar Stache
What to do regarding housing and relocating?
« on: November 27, 2012, 09:49:33 AM »
Hello all, I'm new on this forum and could really use your collective insights, because my brain is a bit fogged by trying to factor in everything and make a 'good' decision. Help (or face punching if necessary) is very welcome!

This is the situation:
I'm a graduate student right now, renting a cheap government subsidized student complex (in the Netherlands, I'm dutch). I live together with my boyfriend for five years, who has had a job for about a year and a half now. It's a stable job and likes his job and workplace. However, he works at a school in the middle of nowhere (public transportation-wise) and drives 80 km a day to get there. He hates his commute and would love to move closer to work. Because I will graduate beginning 2013, we will be forced to move from campus before June 2014. I have a very temporary job right now, will end by January.
I would love to move closer to his job, but.... I do not have a car (don't want one either), and would thus require a house within a village max. 30 min. biking from a train station. Rents are pricy in that area (think: three times what we are renting for now). This is due to a very small supply of houses, mostly big houses with equivalent big rents. With our current income, we would not be able to apply for such a house.