Author Topic: Please help my wife and I decide what debt to attack next  (Read 6025 times)

atourlimit111

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Please help my wife and I decide what debt to attack next
« on: September 18, 2014, 11:30:33 PM »
My wife and I have a small disagreement between the two of us. Through hard work and myself picking up a second job we have paid most of our credit cards off. I'm a Lyft driver now and soon to be a Uber driver too.

Here is our current debt summary:

-CC1: $2,319.54 at 19.80% interest. Minimum payment has been at $64 dollars a month.

-CC2: $1,624.10 at 0% right now. The 0% interest will expire and we will get interest at 19.80% starting in April 2015. Monthly payment has been $50 dollars.

Mazda car loan: We still owe $10,500 on it. Currently at 14.4% interest. Monthly payment is $340.  We have looked into it. Selling it to a car dealership at it's current state would be $3,000 dollars. Private sell would be $4,000 to $5,000 dollars.

T-Mobile cell phones: I'm not sure exactly what we still pay for the smart phones.  To make things easier I'm going to say that we owe $1,000 dollars for both phones. T-Mobile does not charge us interest. But for my wife's cell phone it adds $25 dollars extra to the bill and my phone $27 dollars to the bill.

My wife wants to attack the car loan principal with any extra money we have left over after  monthly expenses are taken care off. Also any extra money that we acquire like selling things, overtime pay, my second job doing Lyft and she is also working watching other parents kids.

I disagree with her and want to attack the credit cards next and then paying off the cell phones. She does not want to pay off the cell phones because she keeps saying "they don't charge us interest".

What we want to know is what debt to attack next and why?

If we do get any extra money from taxes next year we hope to put a big dent into the car principal balance. But we are not sure what to do currently.